Ode to the Disney Dole Whip – Homemade Pineapple Ice Cream

Homemade Dole Whip - Our Little Family Adventure

For many Disney World Travelers, a Pineapple Dole Whip is a park snack you can’t do without.  I get one every time we go to  Disney World in Florida or Disneyland in California. It just isn’t a good trip without a Dole Whip. If you have never had one, I’m so sorry. But then again, you don’t know what you are missing.

Dole Whip 2

A Dole Whip is a delicious pineapple flavored soft serve ice cream served in a cup. You can get it as soft serve or as a float served with pineapple juice. I almost always get it as a float. The picture below is the Soft Serve in a cup.

Disney Dole Whip from Aloha Isle

Disney Dole Whip from Aloha Isle

Unfortunately, the ingredients of a park’s version isn’t exactly my idea of clean eating. My version is a cleaner version with only 5 ingredients. There are a few ways to eat your homemade Dole Whip. You can:

1. Eat it as soft serve straight out of the ice cream maker. This is just like what you get in the park. Plus, this is the quickest way to get your coveted Dole Whip.
2. Serve the ice cream style after the ice cream has been frozen in the freezer. Basically you’ve had that initial serving and decided to freeze the rest for later.
3. Serve as a float served with chilled pineapple juice. You can use soft serve or ice cream with the float.
4. Serve your Dole Whip adult style with a little something something. During this year’s Flower and Garden Festival, Disney is offering a special Dole Whip served with Spiced Rum. So to serve up this treat, add a shot of Spiced Rum to your Dole Whip. I REALLY like it when I added a shot of Captain Morgan’s Spiced Rum to 1/4 cup chilled pineapple juice and added it to 2 scoops of soft serve. OH MY …….

Without further delay, here is my recipe for a homemade Disney Dole Whip

Homemade Pineapple Dole Whip- Our Little Family Adventure

1 quart Pineapple Juice
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
3 cups whipping cream
2-3 cups sugar (adjust to your taste)
3 cups milk

  1. Mix everything together and add into your ice cream maker.
  2. Follow directions for your ice cream maker. 
  3. Serve immediately once frozen as a soft serve or freeze for ice cream.

Makes 10 cups

28 thoughts on “Ode to the Disney Dole Whip – Homemade Pineapple Ice Cream

  1. Delicious! I always love homemade ice cream nice and soft, right out of the ice cream maker. We’ll enjoy this recipe. I tried the Dole Whip with rum at Epcot on our recent trip. It was a fun novelty, but I think I’d get it plain next time. Although the float is tempting too . .

    • Annemarie, the next time you are at Disney visit Capt. Cook’s at the Polynesian resort. They have self serve Dole Whip. But you may not need it after you try this recipe. :) I love the float. It prevents me from eating the ice cream too quickly and getting a brain freeze. Enjoy!

  2. This sounds amazing! Reminds me of Hawaii and being at the Dole Plantation! Yum! Newest follower from the Sunday Social, please stop by when you can!
    thanks again fro sharing!

    • I’ve never had the Orange version. I’m going in a few weeks, I’ll have to add it to my “Must Eat” List. Thanks so much for stopping by.

  3. Since this was an awesome feature at Freedom Fridays Blog Hop, I just shared it on Facebook, Google+ and pinned it on my
    Freedom Friday Pinterest board!!!

    Thanks for sharing at Freedom Fridays blog hop!!!

    Hugs

  4. Pingback: FREE Ice Cream, FREE Ice Cream: Banana Blackberry Ice Cream | Our Little Family Adventure

  5. Pingback: Peach and Toasted Almond Ice Cream | Our Little Family Adventure

  6. Pingback: Banana Blackberry Ice Cream (Dairy and Sugar Free) | Little Family Adventure

  7. I look forward to trying this. Just went to DW recently and tried the Dole Whip w/rum at Epocot and loved it. I’ll have to (at least) halve your recipe, though, to fit in to my ice cream maker. Yours must be enormous!

  8. Pingback: Pineapple Dole Whip – Homemade Pineapple Ice Cream | An Affair from the Heart

Leave a Comment

